Baking and Baking and Baking…


Week three of training is complete! We had our second coalition run this week, six miles that went by surprisingly quickly. Running with other people is essential as the mileage creeps up, otherwise the time can feel extremely long and tedious, despite the fact that I actually like running.

Yes, I will freely admit it. I LIKE TO RUN. People ask me all the time if I do, in this slightly incredulous tone, even more so now that I’m training for the marathon. “So, then do you LIKE to run? I mean…you must…” and then they trail off and look at me as though I were some exotic species of insect. Well, yes, I like to run. The first mile is never fun (our team coach, who has run some ridiculous number of marathons, also said this, so I know it’s not just me.) but there’s joy in the movement of a run for me. What can I say, I’m a lousy dancer, but this, I can do. In any case I’m rallying our team to meet on the weeks that the coalition doesn’t so that we can continue to support each other and keep the fun coming, even on the off weeks.

But what, I hear you thinking, does any of this have to do with baking? Well, in my endless quest to raise funds for this adventure I am going to be selling baked goods at a truly fabulous event, the second annual Comicazi-Con and Bad-Ass Bazaar!


Take one-half comic book convention and one-half holiday craft fair and stir – that’s Comicazi-Con! Some truly amazing artists and crafts people presented last year, and it looks like this year is going to be bigger and better than ever. My own humble little table will be groaning with the fruits of my labors – chocolate chip and ginger cookies, fudge, and other goodies all made from scratch. There will also be another pie raffle and just maybe a chance to win my mom’s amazing cheese cake! It’s all happening on December 12th from 10-4 at the Dilboy VFW Hall in Davis Square, so come check it out! I would be delighted to see all of the local folks who read this blog there.

Please note that I’ve added yet another team member’s blog to my round-up! Check out Laurelin’s blog for updates from our most far-flung teammate! Laurelin is a former employee of Boston Partners in Education and a super-fast runner, so her training adventures should be well-worth the read.

Speaking of reading, I’ve just taken Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running out of the Boston Public Library. Murakami is one of my favorite fiction writers – The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle remains one of the most lovely and strange novels I’ve ever read. The transition from fiction to non-fiction can be tricky, so we’ll see how Murakami fares, but he’s off to a good start in the foreword with a quote (the specific source isn’t stated) that really spoke to me – “Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional.” This sums up beautifully my philosophy not only of running, but for life. It hurts sometimes, but yes, I like to run.

One response to “Baking and Baking and Baking…

  1. Aww! Thanks for the shout out! I only wish I could be there training with you all. And I would say the first 2-3 miles suck. You’re definitely not alone there. 🙂 Have a good week 4!

Leave a Reply

