The Best Cookies Ever


Ok, maybe not literally – it depends on what you’re in the mood for – but I recently discovered some really very seriously good cookies.

Whenever I go to my hairdresser, which is in the South End, I stop at the Formaggio Kitchen as it’s right around the corner.  If you live in Boston and have not been to one of their two locations, go.  In addition to the largest collection of cheese I have ever seen (hence the name!) Formaggio Kitchen carries a fantastic selection of wines, salumi, and gourmet goodies.  The folks there are super helpful, and it’s small and local, both things I like to support when possible in my shopping.

On my most recent visit, in addition to a lovely goat cheese and a sausage I found Lark Fine Foods Salted Rosemary Shortbread. Let me start out by saying that I am a huge fan of shortbread anyway – I like it better than most sweeter cookies.  This shortbread is thin and crisp and wonderfully buttery.  When you then add the salt and rosemary, they pretty much blew me away.  The rosemary seems odd in a dessert, but it gives the cookies a delicate perfume and tiny bit of bitterness that cuts the butter beautifully.  Heavenly.  I can’t wait until my next haircut – the olive wafers sound promising!

3 responses to “The Best Cookies Ever

  1. Definitely want these!!! Have you tried the Salumeria in the North End yet?

  2. I think I might have seen these at Pemberton Farms. I’ll have to check and then give them a try!

Leave a Reply

